National Book Trust of India and Its Chairman, Publication & Headquarter, & The objective of National Book Trust

The National Book Trust (NBT) is a publishing house in India. It is established on August 1, 1957, as an autonomous body under the Education Ministry, Government of India. 

The headquarters of NBT is in Vasant Kunj, New Delhi, India. NBT's Official language is English, & Hindi.

The Activities & Objectives of National Book Trust's

01. Publication of Book 
02. Promotion of books and reading 
03. Promotion of Indian books abroad 
04. Assistance to authors and publishers, and children's literature. 
05. To encourage Good literature 
06. Providing literature to the public at moderate prices. 
07. Encourage publication of books in English, Hindi, and other Indian languages. 
08. To promote the formation of regional book trusts in different parts of the country with the objectives of the trust.

NBT President Name: Lt Col Yuvraj Malik

Publication: NBT Newsletter

Parent organization: Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India

Official Website:

Also Read: 1000+ Library Vacancy in India

National Book Trust

After independence, the Prime Minister of India, Shri Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru felt that equal emphasis should be laid on scientific, technological, and industrial advancement as well as the social and cultural development of the nation.

It should be widely publicized to develop an interest in people to understand and appreciate the various cultural and traditional heritage of the country.

Thus institutions like Sahitya Akademi, Lalit Kala Akademi, and NBT were established by the government.

Thus, the National Book Trust was established on 1 August 1957 in India.

It was inaugurated by the then Vice President of India, the great philosopher and teacher Dr. S. Krishnan did it.

On this the occasion, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru shared his views with the audience about the importance of books, the habit of reading, and the National Book Trust in realizing his dreams and dreams of the book-reading society.

At the ceremony, the first chairman of the trust, Dr. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, and Mr. John Mathai also participated.

Headquarters of India, headquartered in New Delhi. Fully funded by the government. NBT of India has a Board of Trustees and an Executive Committee. 123. 

Subscribe & Join Us for Getting Latest Library Jobs News

YouTube : Library Academy

Telegram: Library Science